2 August 2015 Adam McGreevy

Pre-registration for the 2015 John Begg’s Memorial will open on Tuesday 4th Aug at 9pm via EntryCentral.com.  The event, which will take place on Saturday 15th August, will host 3 separate races;  an A1/2/3/J race, a dedicated A4 race and an Over 50’s race.

The race accommodating A1/2/3/J categories will also be the penultimate round of the 2015 Cycling Ireland National Road Series.  To facilitate this Banbridge CC will be reserving 40 pre-registration places for A1 & A2 category riders, but for a limited time only. Places in this race which have not been filled by 9pm on Monday 10th will then be opened up and offered to all applicable categories – A1, A2, A3 & Juniors.  With a maximum of 80 riders permitted in the race it is expected to fill quickly, so get your entry in promptly if you wish to guarantee your place.

The A4 race will work on a similar system, reserving 10 places for Women until 9pm on Monday 10th when all remaining places will be opened up for men and women in the A4 category – again, a total maximum of 80 riders will be permitted in this race.  An over 50’s race will also be promoted and will also be pre-entry.

Pre-entry for all races will be via EntryCentral.com at a cost of £12 per rider.  Where places are available for entry on the day these will be at a cost of £15 – these are not expected to be available for the A1/2/3/J or A4/Women’s races however.  A refund of £10 per entry will be available for those who have registered but are no longer available to make the event, as long as notice is given by 9pm on Thursday 13th.

Pre-registration for all races will close at 9pm on Wednesday 12th August.

As well as the generous prizes for the overall National Road Series League, Banbridge are pleased to offer a prize pot of £1000 for the A1/2/3/J race where the top 8 riders will awarded as well as prizes for the first 3 x A3 riders, first 3 x Juniors and first A2 rider.  There will also be a KOH competition.

There will be prizes for the top 6 in the A4 race as well as a separate prize list for the first 3 Women, subject to entry numbers.

The race HQ will once again be Dromore Rugby Club on Barban Hill, Dromore.  All races will roll out together at a neutralised pace to the Ballynahinch Road where all race will start and finish.  For 2015 we will return to the traditional Begg’s circuit, incorporating the climbs of Ballykeel Hill and the Drumlough.  Details of the circuit can be found here.

Sign-on will be open from 10am and will close at 11:15 sharp allowing time for the neutralised roll-out.

A neutral service car will be in operation for the A1/2/3/J race – riders are expected to provide a spare set of wheels (labelled!) for the service car.

For further information contact race director Aaron Wallace via email at aarwallace@gmail.com

Useful Links;

Pre-registration : Entry Central  NOW OPEN!

Sign-on location / Event HQDromore Rugby Club

Race CircuitRide with GPS

Race Distances:

A1/A2/A3/J race – 7 laps (111km / 71 miles)

A4 race – 5 laps (82km / 51 miles)

Over 50’s race – 3 laps (38km / 24 miles)


Banbridge Cycling Club cater for cyclists at all levels, representing all disciplines of the sport, should you require any more information on the club, Contact Us below.