Banbridge CC 2015 Club Person of the Year Nominees Announced

9 October 2015
9 October 2015 Adam McGreevy

2015 has been another hugely successful year for Banbridge CC and its members, both on the bike and off. This is largely due to the hard work and dedication of the volunteers within the club who push that extra mile in their efforts.  Banbridge CC are proud to announce the nominations for the 2015 Club Person of the Year, as voted by the members.  The Banbridge CC Committee and Members would like to congratulate and thank all the nominees on their efforts throughout the year and look forward to toasting the winner of the award when the results of the votes will be announced the Club Prize Dinner on 13th November.

Below are the nominations for 2015 along an example of just some of the highlights of their contributions to the Banbridge Cycling Club;

Alan Towel.  Alan has held the role of Club Race Secretary as well as being an active member of the Open Race Committee within the club in 2015.  His consistent hard work throughout the year has ensured the safe running of the road events, including assigning sufficient marshals and  officials at the club races on a weekly basis.

Aaron Wallace.  Returning as Open Race Secretary for 2015, Aaron has led the Open Race Committee in the running of the Club’s open race events, including the re-introduction of the Banbridge Town Criterium.  Aaron also stepped in to cover the vacant position of Club Press Officer ensuring the timely submission of reports to the Club media outlets and local press.

Ivor Park.  As Chief Timekeeper Ivor has brought a meticulous attention to detail in his record keeping ensuring the Judges and Handicappers have all the detail at their fingertips when required.  Ivor has also trained a team of Timekeepers within the club ensuring the load is spread and increasing the resources available to the Club and Open Races.

Simon Curry.  For the first time in the Clubs history Banbridge CC were able to send a team to the World XC MTB Championships in 2015.  Simon spearheaded the efforts in ensuring the riders had the opportunity to gain the required qualification points by managing a Banbridge CC team who travelled to all of the Irish and British Cycling National Series races.

Neil McAlister.  Neil’s event blogs have proved a hit with both the riders and those following the races.  Giving a rider’s insight to the races and sportives his blogs and reports have become one of the weekly highlights of the club website and local press.

Susan Mayne.  Having assisted Ivor Park with club race timekeeping Susan has quickly become one of the regular timekeeper for all the club’s events.  Her catering for the club events is always a highlight for the riders and officials and is often the top of the wish list for the event organisers.

Paul Hannigan.  As well as holding the demanding role of Club Secretary Paul produces quality photographs of the club events for publication in the local press and various Club media outlets including the website and social media.

Maurice Mayne. Having taken on the position of Club Chairman Maurice’s leadership and work ethic has been infectious and contributed to the successful trajectory the club has enjoyed since his appointment – he leads from the front and by example.  Attending numerous formal appointments on behalf of the club, Maurice will also be seen rolling his sleeves up to assist mountain bike trial builders or course preparation for road events.

Votes were cast at the Banbridge Cycling Club meeting on 6th October 2015. 


Banbridge Cycling Club cater for cyclists at all levels, representing all disciplines of the sport, should you require any more information on the club, Contact Us below.