Wills Cup, Diamond Rd Circuit TT (Results)

3 May 2017
3 May 2017 Adam McGreevy

Tonight saw the introduction of the new 10.5m Diamond Rd circuit for Banbridge CC’s club racers.  With the 2 main climbs of the circuit both coming in the first 1.5 miles and maxing out at 8% this was far from a flat and fast course, and PB’s were always likely to remain unchallenged.  Indeed, for a handicap event the target times were also likely to be untouched and so it proved.  With the Wills Cup being a single event competition however there was plenty to ride for with the winner on the night guaranteed silverware at the end of the year.

On the night it was the in-form John Buller who showed just how much he has progressed from last year and was the only rider to come within 1 minute of his target time with a very impressive 25:22, more than 2 minutes quicker than strongmen Mark Stewart and Kevin McAlinden who were 2nd and 3rd fastest on the night.

Such a time from young Buller was more than enough to see him win the event and claim the Wills Cup for 2017.  In 2nd place was Brian Wilson who came within 1:14 of his target time by recording 31:59, while in 3rd it was Mark Kendall who recorded 28:39, 1:45 over his target time.

While it’s still very early days in the season 2 wins from 2  has seen John Buller shoot straight to the top of the leader board with a the maximum possible 60 points.  In 2nd place is the ever consistent Ian Cochrane with 52 points and just behind him with 50 points is Stephen Fitzsimmons.  Remarkably the next 5 places on the board are all tied on 48 points.

Toni Hannigan’s photo’s from the night can be viewed on the club Facebook page, here.

2017 Wills Cup – Actual Times

2017 Wills Cup – Results

Overall 2017 League Standings (after 2 x rounds)


Banbridge Cycling Club cater for cyclists at all levels, representing all disciplines of the sport, should you require any more information on the club, Contact Us below.