John Beggs Memorial 2017; Event Details & Pre-Registration Notice

24 July 2017
24 July 2017 Adam McGreevy

Banbridge CC are delighted to announce the 2017 John Beggs Memorial, the penultimate round of the Cycling Ireland National Road Series taking place on Saturday 12th August in Dromore, Co Down.  As part of the 2017 promotion we are also pleased to host a dedicated women’s only race as part of the Cycling Ireland Women’s National Road Series.  A3/Jr & A4 Categories will also have their own dedicated races in support of the National Series events.

For the 2017 edition of the event we are delighted to introduce John MacMahon & Co Chartered Accountants as our primary sponsor. Speaking on behalf of John MacMahon & Co, James MacMahon said “As a local firm specialising in and providing cross border accountancy and specialist taxation expertise we are delighted to partner with Banbridge CC, a local club with a rich history in delivering events which also attract competitors and visitors from all over Ireland.”

The team have been working hard in the background to come up with a suitably challenging course, ensuring a worthy winner in all races, while also bringing the excitement and atmosphere of a National Series event to the local area. The Event will start and finish in the Co. Down town of Dromore while the revised circuit will take in the villages of Kinallen and Dromara which should contribute to the spectator numbers along the route.

The ascent of Ballykeel Hill has been reintroduced having been used on what was seen as the ‘traditional’ Beggs circuit, and while it may be short in distance the gradient always ensure it plays a key role in the race.  With the climbs of Kinallen, Ballykeel and Drumlough also dotted around the 30km circuit there are plenty of opportunities for those with climbing legs to shine and add pressure to their competitors, and with a new finish line atop Mount Street in Dromore a bunch gallop for the line would be a surprise outcome.

2016 Winner, Conor Hennebry of Aqua Blue Sport

The A1/A2 National Series race will complete 4 laps of the main circuit before returning to Dromore to contest 3 laps of the 2.5 km finishing circuit, giving a total race distance of 132km.  The Women’s National Series event will complete 3 laps of the main circuit before returning to Dromore , giving competitors a total distance of 98 km which, by itself should prove to be a fantastic and hard fought event, will be ideal preparation for those aiming for the upcoming Rás na mBan.  Neutral Service will also be available in both the Women’s and Men’s National League races.

The A3 & Junior support race will incorporate the Sean McGreevy Memorial with the first junior on the day being awarded the Sean McGreevy Memorial Trophy.  This race will also face 3 laps of the main circuit before returning to Dromore for a total distance of 98 km.  Meanwhile the A4 race will complete 2 laps of the main circuit before returning to Dromore for a total distance of 68 km.

Aiming to add to the prestige of the event we have worked closely with ICN Sport Media and are excited to confirm that the 2017 event will be televised and broadcast via TG4, eir Sport and the Bike Channel of Sky TV, showcasing the cream of Irish cycle racing in the beautiful surroundings of Co. Down.

Pre-entry to all race races will open at 6pm on Thursday 27th July via the Cycling Ireland website, closing at midnight on Sunday 6th August.  Pre-Entry will be priced at £15 per rider.  All races will be capped at a maximum of 80 riders per field so early entry is advised.

Race HQ and event sign-on will be at Dromore Rugby Club where full shower and changing facilities will be made available.


Cover photo courtesy of The Belgian Project


Banbridge Cycling Club cater for cyclists at all levels, representing all disciplines of the sport, should you require any more information on the club, Contact Us below.