8 November 2017 Adam McGreevy

Banbridge Cycling Club held their Annual Awards Night and Dinner Dance at the Belmont Hotel on Friday 3 November 2017.  We were delighted to have Cycling Double World Champion and Gold medal Paralympian Eve McCrystal as our special guest to present the awards.

 Aaron Wallace was master of ceremonies for the evening giving a review of the past year and the success stories that followed.

Stephen Fitzsimmons came out top with 4 trophies and won the overall race league trophy, Stephen has been consistent all season with not having missed a race. 

John Buller has had another great season collecting 3 trophies on the night; John has had a busy season being part of the Junior Tour of Ireland and the Junior Tour of Wales. 

 Martin Fitzpatrick was in good form the season picking up 2 cups for the Time trials.

 It was great to see Chris Burns get the most improved in the time trials; Chris has had a great season by winning the Invacare Para Cycling league. 

The ever-consistent Gareth McKee always performing well on road and off road he’s the current Irish National Elite Cross Country MTB & Irish National Elite Marathon MTB Champion.

Charlie Glover picked up the Junior Bar he has a had good steady season, his Mum Sara picked up the female Bar as well as the John Maxwell Cup she has been going from strength to strength.

It was great to see Ruth McKee collecting the Quinn Cup for the time trials she has been going well and very focused on her cycling and enjoyed the races and time trials this season although at times found them challenging due to our weather conditions.

The Belmont club Person of the year trophy was awarded to Toni Hannigan for all her work during the year.


We would like to thank Paul Hannigan for the photographs throughout the year from the different events and providing a fabulous slideshow of photos in the Belmont.


Time Trials

Mac 2 UP Trophy- Peter McBride & James McMahon

Lutton Cup – James McMahon

Weir Cup, Wills Cup & Gerry Beggs Trophy -John Buller

Quinn Cup – Ruth McKee

Dennison Cup – Chris McCann

Jack Carson Memorial Cup & Skelly Cup- Martin Fitzpatrick

John Maxwell Cup- Sara Glover

Fusco Cup – Gareth McKee

Heathwood Cup – Malcolm Jenkins


Road Races

Maxwell Cup & Gilchrist Cup- Simon Curry

Mourne Observer Cup, Chronicle Cup (senior bar), Donaghy Cup & Logan Cup -Stephen Fitzsimmons, he also won Race League Trophy

John Beggs Trophy-Chris Burns

Outlook Cup (Junior Bar) & Glen Dane (Junior Bar-Charlie Glover

Super fry Trophy (Vets Bar)- Brian Wilson

Mayne Cup (Ladies Bar) -Sara Glover

Gerald McAleenan Shield Most improved in Time Trials – Chris Burns

Seamus Downey Cycles Cup (Youth Bar)- Luke Nicholl


Mountain Bikes

Mayne MTB Trophy-Ruth Aiken

Belmont cup MTB -Gareth McKee

Eddie Sands Cup MTB- Ryan McBride


Thomas Evans Cup International Performance – Mark Downey


Belmont Cup Club person of the year – Toni Hannigan



Banbridge Cycling Club cater for cyclists at all levels, representing all disciplines of the sport, should you require any more information on the club, Contact Us below.