Voting for Banbridge CC 2019 Club Person of the Year now open

13 September 2019
13 September 2019 Adam McGreevy

Following the nomination of 4 worthy candidates for the 2019 Club Person of the Year at the recent Banbridge CC meeting on the evening of Tuesday 3rd September it was agreed the voting would be opened up to all club members via an online survey.

All members should now have received a link to the survey via email from ‘ via SurveyMonkey‘ entitled  VOTE NOW FOR YOUR ‘BCC – Club Person of the Year 2019’ .

Members are asked to place their vote for their preferred nominee by no later than Saturday 28th September when the voting survey will close.  Votes will be counted, verified and administered by Peadar Curran who can be contacted at if you have any issues registering your vote.

The winner of the 2019 Club Person of the Year will be announced at the upcoming 75th Anniversary Dinner where they will be awarded the new Towell Trophy which will also be unveiled on the night.  

Congratulations to all our nominees and many thanks to all our club members for their valued contributions over the year.  We look forward to celebrating with as many of you as possible at the Anniversary Dinner on Saturday 12th October.

The nominees for 2019 are;

Paul Hannigan

Paul is ever present at both club and Banbridge CC promoted open events.  Whether it be taking part as a competitor in club events, snapping photographs which are regularly used for press reports and online or simply chipping in with the set-up of events, he is a valued member of the team.  He regularly assists Banbridge CC para cyclist Chris Burns when travelling to the National Paracycling league event with travel and again also capturing the action in photos.  Paul has also been working in the background to assist the club in achieving Clubmark accreditation.

Toni Hannigan

Toni volunteered her services in the 2018 off season to assist with organising and managing a number of club races throughout the 2019 season, however she quickly become the ‘go–to’ person for many of the other club race promoters and also the representatives from the contact points within the Banbridge Inter Club Race League.  Toni is also heavily involved with assisting in the organisation of the club’s open and social events, including the annual prize awards dinner and 75th Anniversary dinner.

David Lavery

David has taken on the busy & challenging role of Club Secretary for 2019.  Despite a steep learning curve David has managed the membership and administrative tasks required in his stride, working closely with the Club Committee and Chairman.  During the year he also attended a number of Cycling Ireland & Cycling Ulster meetings and workshops, including the Women On Wheels & Community Bike Ride which he fed back to the club membership and committee who then progressed them further and into successful initiatives.

Aaron Wallace

Aaron continues to the lead the club in its open road race programme, which includes the town centre Banbridge Crit and National Road Series event The John Beggs Memorial.  Aaron has also been responsible for bringing the Victus Tour of Ulster to Banbridge town in conjunction with Banbridge CC.  In what is becoming an increasingly demanding environment Banbridge CC’s events are highly regarded in the wider Irish cycling circles, so much so that the club was recognised in 2019 for its promotions and received the Cycling Ireland Club of the Month award in May.


Banbridge Cycling Club cater for cyclists at all levels, representing all disciplines of the sport, should you require any more information on the club, Contact Us below.