2023 Travers Eng. Annaclone GP – Entry Link & Event Details

17 February 2023
17 February 2023 Aaron Wallace

The Travers Eng. Annaclone will once again play host to the opening road race of the Irish cycle road race calendar for 2023 on Saturday 4th March.  Often cited and used as an indicator of what riders have had a fruitful winter’s training in preparation for the race season, it once again proved to be the case in 2022.  A2 rider Dean Harvey of Spellman Dublin Port put on an dominant display to win solo ahead of Team Caldwell Cycles duo Darnell Moore and Odhran Doogan.  It was the first of numerous wins and impressive performances of the first year U23 rider, also taking victories in the Shay Elliott Memorial Rás Maigheo, as well as top 10 finishes on all stages at Rás Mumhan on the way to 4th overall and winner of the climbers’ classification in the Rás Tailteann.  Harvey has since been rewarded with a professional contract with Trinity racing for the 2023 season

The 2023 event will follow in the same format as last year with 2 races being promoted by Banbridge CC on the day; a handicapped race catering for A1, A2 and A3 categories and a mass start A4 & Women’s support race.

The ‘A’ race for A1, 2 & 3’s will be 6 laps of the traditional rolling circuit with a sporting handicap for a total race distance of approx. 50 miles / 80 km, with the winner being awarded the Eddie Sands Memorial Cup.  The ‘B’ race for A4 men and A3/A4 women will cover 4 laps of the same course giving a total distance of approx. 32 miles / 51 km. In addition to the Eddie Sands Memorial Cup for the winner of the ‘A’ race, the winner of the ‘B’ race will be awarded the Travers Cup.

The usual circuit starting from the Hawthorn Inn will be used, taking in Richies Bridge before a sharp left through Annaclone Village, Mays Corner and Katesbridge before returning to the Hawthorn Inn via the Ardbrin Rd. A details course profile can be found here.

Entry for the 2023 edition is now available via the Cycling Ireland EventMaster portal, here. The entry system will remain open until 22:00 on 1st March.  Please note this event will be strictly pre-entry only.

2022 Travers Eng. Annaclone GP Winner, Dean Harvey (Spellman Dublin Port)


Banbridge Cycling Club cater for cyclists at all levels, representing all disciplines of the sport, should you require any more information on the club, Contact Us below.