Gold rush for Banbridge CC at Ulster 10m Time Trial Championships

9 July 2023
9 July 2023 Aaron Wallace

Banbridge CC’s time-trialling riders displayed another excellent demonstration of their strength in depth as they claimed a hat-trick of Gold medals and two Bronze medals at this morning’s Ulster 10mile TT Championships.

As the provinces most consistent tester, Marcus Christie led the way being the fastest rider on the day and was suitably crowned Ulster Elite Men Champion with a time of 19:22, the only rider to dip below the 20 minute marker on the challenging new Ballymena CC course..  He was joined on the podium by fellow Banbridge CC rider Luke Osborne who won the Bronze medal in the Elite Men category.

In the M40 (Men’s >40) category Erwin McKee once again came out on top and claimed the Gold medal. He was also joined by a Banbridge CC club mate on the podium with Philip Castles picking up the Bronze medal.

Banbridge CC were also crowned with the overall Team Classification, with the combined times Christie, McKee and David Ross earning them another Ulster Championship Gold medal.  They bettered Silver medallists Inspired Cycling by almost four and a half minutes and Bronze medallists Team Madigan CC by over 7 minutes.

Also competing on the day were club members JP Rice, Simon Curry, Marty Fitzpatrick, Martin Duffy and Nigel McCullough.


Banbridge Cycling Club cater for cyclists at all levels, representing all disciplines of the sport, should you require any more information on the club, Contact Us below.