Christie ends season with home win at Thomas White Memorial

3 September 2023
3 September 2023 Aaron Wallace

Marcus Christie wrapped up his 2023 season with a fine win at the Thomas White Memorial TT in Warrenpoint.  The Banbridge CC promoted event attracted a field of specialist time trial riders and also hosted the final round of the Cycling Ireland Para-cycling National Series.  Fresh from a successful World Championships in Scotland a number of the National Elite Para-cycling squad were in attendance, including BCC’s own Chris Burns and 2022 World Champion Roanan Grimes.

Gary Cranston of East Antrim CC, a seasoned road competitor who has been enjoying some great late season form, set the early pace with a time of 20min 50 sec for the 10 miles.  This was bettered by upcoming Junior rider Curtis Neill of Team Caldwell Cycles who recorded 20:22.  The final wave of riders included a string of names that carried expectation of some fast times, and they didn’t disappoint.

International junior Seth Dunwoody (Cannibal B Victorious) was the first to go under the 20 minute marker, recording a time of 19:11.   Para-cyclist Ronan Grimes came in next with a time of 20:33, only 1 second off his own Irish National Record.

Defending Champion Paul Kennedy, Burran CC, once again travelled north from his home in Limerick.  The recently crowned Irish National Masters Champion hoping to repeat his win from 2022.  He set a blistering time of 18 minutes 48sec to take the fastest time with only 2 riders remaining on the course.

Marcus Christie of the host club thundered across the line setting a time of 18:46, taking the victory by a slim 2 second margin. Donegal man Mitchell McLaughlin, All human/VeloRevolution RT, was the last rider to finish.  He set a very respectable time of 19:23, which gave him 4th fastest time on the day.

As well as his 2nd fastest time overall Kennedy also collected the prize for fastest M40, while Dunwoody was 3rd fastest overall and fastest junior.  Philip Loughlin, another of the BCC’s strong time trial squad, was fast M50 and local man Colin McGready was fastest M60.  Colin was also recently crowned Irish National M60 Time Trial Champion and is clearly finishing his season in fantastic form.

Karen Hull of Phoenix CC was the fastest woman with a time of 25:08.  Another local rider, Dromore’s Zoe Lindsay of TC Racing collected the Women’s Junior prize.

Ronan Grimes led the way for the para-cyclists with a deserving win as fastest solo competitor.   Declan Slevin of Rosemount CC in Westmeath was winner in the handcycling category, while Donnacha McCarthy of Newcastle West Wheelers made the trip from Limerick worthwhile by collecting the tandem prize.





Actual Time


1 Marcus Christie Banbridge CC ELITE 18:46:90
2 Paul Kennedy Burren Cycling Club M40 18:48:40
3 Seth Dunwoody Cannibal B Victorious JR 19:11:11
4 Mitchell Mc Laughlin All human/VeloRevolution RT ELITE 19:23:71
5 Donnacha Mc Carthy Longcourt Hotel – NCW Wh TANDEM 20:10:83
6 Curtis Neill Team Caldwell Cycles JR 20:22:69
7 Ronan Grimes Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club C4 20:33:22
8 Gary Cranston East Antrim CC M40 20:51:33
9 Steven Mc Allister Un-Attached Ulster M40 20:56:19
10 Jonathan Denvir Banbridge CC ELITE 21:02:48
11 Philip Castles Banbridge CC M40 21:10:01
12 Andrew Hedley AHC Racing ELITE 21:18:18
13 Philip Loughlin Banbridge CC M50 21:18:34
14 David Ross Banbridge CC M40 21:34:22
15 Sean Featherstone Newry Wheelers CC M40 21:36:63
16 Adam Jeffers Kings Moss CC ELITE 21:38:56
17 Colin Mc Gready Dromara Cycling Club M60 21:39:48
18 Noel Conway Bray Wheelers M50 21:45:22
19 Nathan Mullan Velo Cafe Magasin ELITE 22:05:37
20 Liam Crichton Velo Cafe Magasin M30 22:12:00
21 Barry Hayes Island Wheelers M50 22:13:69
22 Simon Ridings AHC Racing ELITE 22:14:07
23 Jeremy Martin Team Madigan C.C. M50 22:14:34
24 Aaron Parks Banbridge CC M40 22:15:92
25 John Paul Rice Banbridge CC M40 22:24:53
26 Stephen Fitzsimmons Banbridge CC M40 22:33:22
27 Pat Byrne Dublin Wheelers M50 22:53:06
28 Chris Wheeler Team Madigan C.C. M60 22:53:08
29 Paul Whyte Seven Springs CC Loughrea M50 22:57:30
30 Simon Keery Powerhouse Sport M40 22:58:25
31 Clive Stevenson Un-Attached Ulster M40 23:03:40
32 Kevin Mc Crossan Four Masters CC M60 23:12:78
33 Chris Burns Banbridge CC C2 23:13:18
34 Brian Hannon Banbridge CC M60 23:18:98
35 Noel Mc Loughlin Island Wheelers M50 23:20:60
36 Jack Ferguson Velo Cafe Magasin ELITE 23:47:16
37 Mark Kendall Banbridge CC M40 23:52:20
38 Martin Fitzpatrick Banbridge CC M50 23:58:49
39 Martin Duffy Banbridge CC M50 24:08:29
40 Adrian Kerr Ballymena Road Club M50 24:17:15
41 Joseph Giles AHC Racing ELITE 24:21:96
42 Declan Slevin Rosemount Cycling Club HC 24:33:60
43 Kevin Walker Dromara Cycling Club M40 25:00:59
44 Karen Hull Phoenix CC WM40 25:08:07
45 Helen Mc Parland Longcourt Hotel – NCW Wh WM 25:14:38
46 William Orr Ards CC M50 25:32:70
47 Gillian Orr North Down CC WM50 25:37:77
48 Nigel Mc Cullough Banbridge CC M50 27:06:17
49 Zoe Lindsay TC Racing WMJR 27:07:66
50 Richard Nicholl Banbridge CC M50 27:52:39
51 Ruth Mc Kee Banbridge CC WM50 28:52:01
52 Carl Fullerton Donegal Bay Cycling Club M60 28:57:07
53 Seamus Wall Barrow Wheelers HC 29:28:18
54 Thomas Murphy Clonard RC C3 29:47:93
55 Carla Mc Ardle Banbridge CC WM 29:57:99


Banbridge Cycling Club cater for cyclists at all levels, representing all disciplines of the sport, should you require any more information on the club, Contact Us below.