Banbridge CC celebrate season with Awards Night and Winter BBQ

13 November 2023
13 November 2023 Aaron Wallace

Following another successful season Banbridge CC held their annual awards evening last Friday, 10th November.  The evening started off by the presentation of the Chain of Office to our new President, Maurice Mayne. Chairman, Aaron Wallace, gave a speech prior to the awards noting the club’s achievements and thanking the various volunteers and sponsors who have supported the club throughout the year.

Before the music commenced awards were given the numerous prize-winners, with  a special honorary Banbridge CC life membership presentation to Sean Travers in recognition of his outstanding support of the club.

A full list of those collecting awards on the evening can be found below;

Mac 2-Up: 2-Up Time Trial Series –  Luke Osborne/ Paul Wilkinson

Weir Cup: Handicapped 10-mile TT –  Richard Nicholl

Wills Cup: HC 10-mile TT – Malcolm Jenkins

Maxwell Cup: Road Race –  Francis Donnelly

Gilchrist Cup: Road Race –  Gavin Clarke

Skelly Cup: HC Time Trial –  Michael Larkin

Jack Carson Memorial: Master’s Scratch TT –  Philip Castles

Eddie Sands Cup: HC MTB Race –  Willie Mulligan

Belmont Cup: MTB Rider of the Year –  Adam Matthews

Gerald McAleenan Memorial: Most Improved TT Rider  –  Richard McBride

Logan Cup: Senior Points & John Maxwell Cup: HC Time Trial –  Nigel McCullough

Chronicle Cup: Senior BAR –  JP Rice

Mayne Cup: Ladies BAR –  Ruth McKee (Snr)

Donaghy Cup: Roadman BAR & Mourne Observer Cup: Road Race – Aaron Parks

Seamus Downey Cup: Youth BAR – Riley Smith

Fusco Cup: Scratch TT,  Dennison Cup: Hilly TT,  O’Hagan Trophy: Hill Climb,  Super Fry Trophy: Master’s BAR,  League Trophy: Points scored over the Club Racing season –  Paul Wilkinson

Thomas Evans Cup: International Performer of the Year & Heathwood Cup: HC TT –  Chris Burns

Quinn Cup: HC Time Trial,  Lutton Cup: HC Time Trial,  Towel Trophy: Club Person of the Year –  Martin Duffy

Honorary Lifetime Membership –  Sean Travers.

Sean Travers was presented with an Honorary Lifetime Membership by Club President, Maurice Mayne and Chairman, Aaron Wallace.

Martin Duffy was awarded the Towell Trophy as Club Person of the Year.

Paul Wilkinson was one of the biggest winners on the night, collecting the League Trophy.

Chris Burns was award the Thomas Evans Cup for International Performer of the Year.

Ruth McKee was awarded the Mayne Trophy as Ladies BAR.


Banbridge Cycling Club cater for cyclists at all levels, representing all disciplines of the sport, should you require any more information on the club, Contact Us below.